Book Talk: Confessions

1. I’ve never DNF’d a book. It doesn’t matter how much I’m not enjoying it, if I have to put it aside for a few days and come back to it, I will finish it. I know there’s plenty other books I will enjoy I could read instead but DNF’ing makes me feel like I accomplished nothing and wasted my time. At least by finishing, it adds to my total of books read.

2. Sometimes after reading a book that’s really affected me, I need to just be not okay for a while. This means I might avoid people who try to cheer me up or who will say that it was just a book. I don’t want to be comforted or placated, I just want to reflect and maybe cry.

3. I seem to have either gotten over getting sick while reading in the car or have done it so much anyway that it no longer happens.

4. I re-arrange the books on my shelves at least once a week.

5. Coffee shops are my favourite place to read outside of the home.

6. I’m always surprised when someone says they’re going to read a book based on a review I’ve written or a recommendation I’ve given.

7. If I’m visiting another city, I always research where the bookstores are even if I don’t have time to go there.

8. If I add up the cost of all my books, my collection is the most expensive thing I own. Probably by triple.

9. I am ultra-organized when it comes to my books. I have a journal to write thoughts down while reading to help with reviews, a journal with ARCs listed by their release date so I know which ones need to be read soon, a journal with a list of books that I want to buy and what month they’re released, and now a journal to keep track of the debut authors and contemporary books for the two big challenges I’m participating in.

10. I keep meaning to do a exploration of blogs that are out there but so far haven’t found the time. Next day off, I have it planned to just spend the day going through book blogs, following the ones with similar interests, and hopefully making some more friends.

11. I worry about saying the wrong thing, wording something the wrong way, or sounding too preachy in reviews.

12. I’m very picky to whom I lend my books out to.

8 Comments

Filed under books, talking books, ya books

8 responses to “Book Talk: Confessions

  1. I love this! I’m so happy to know there are more people out there like me. 😉

  2. I completely understand number 2. And non readers just don’t get it! My books are by far the most expensive things I own too. I should stop buying them, but I can’t! I wish I was as organised as you 😛

  3. I love the idea of this post and totally relate to a lot of your confessions

Leave a Reply

