January Wrap-up/February TBR

Last day of the month so it’s time for the monthly wrap-up. I actually did it. I read a book a day for the whole month. I confess, some days it was a struggle and it meant long nights to actually finish the book, but I did it. And I’m hoping to keep it up in February instead of going a little easier.

January Wrap-up:

Suspicion Suspicion – Alexandra Monir. 3/5 stars. Review coming. It was a decent read but I found the whole mystery predictable.

red queen Red Queen – Victoria Aveyard. 4.5/5 stars. Review. Have I raved and squealed enough about this book so everyone knows I loved it? I hope so.

twisted fate Twisted Fated – Norah Olson. 2.5/5 stars. Review. I thought it tried too hard to shock and foreshadowed too much to be shocking.

duff The DUFF – Kody Keplinger. 3/5 stars. Review. I liked that it was more than just high school drama but the message was a little too ‘in your face’ to be effective for me.

playlist Playlist for the Dead – Michelle Falkoff. 3.5/5 stars. Review. I liked the friendship and how music played such a big role in the book.

hitch The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy – Douglas Adams. 3/5 stars. It was good and I’m glad I read it but it didn’t wow me.

crown of midnight Crown of Midnight – Sarah J Maas. 4/5 stars. So good. I did like the first one just a little bit more but so far, this series is great and I love the interactions between characters.

heart and other black holes My Heart and Other Black Holes – Jasmine Warga. 4/5 stars. Review. Thank you for crushing my soul Jasmine Warga. This book will stay with me for a while. I need a physical copy.

zodiac Zodiac – Romina Russell. 3/5 stars. I liked the world and the set-up but there were a lot of things that didn’t really work either.

wicked thing big A Wicked Thing – Rhiannon Thomas. 3/5 stars. Review. A little slow at first but really picks up near the end.

on the edge On the Edge – Allison Van Diepen. 3/5 stars. Review. Good premise but again, a few things that were impossible to overlook(magically appearing cell phone?)

lailah big Lailah – Nikki Kelly. 3.5/5 stars. I really like this world and the characters. It was a little slow at first but once I got into it, it was fun.

boy next door The Boy Next Door – Katie Van Ark. 4/5 stars. Review. Really cute and loved all the figure skating talk.

distancebetween_final cover_4_1.indd The Distance Between Lost and Found – Kathryn Holmes. 4/5 stars. Review. A very nice surprise. I really enjoyed the characters and the survival and faith aspects.

better than perfect Better Than Perfect – Melissa Kantor. 3/5 stars. Review. I really, really wanted to sympathize with the main character because she was going through a rough time but that doesn’t excuse the cheating. Nothing excused the cheating.

beginning of everything The Beginning of Everything – Robyn Schneider. 3/5 stars. Review. With all the hype, I was expecting more. I wanted more depth to the characters and their relationships.

summoning big The Summoning – Kelley Armstrong. 3/5 stars. Didn’t enjoy this one quite as much as her Darkness Rising series but it’s still good.

awakening big The Awakening – Kelley Armstrong. 3/5 stars. Same as above.

reckoning big The Reckoning – Kelley Armstrong. 3/5 stars. Again, see above. But hey, a finished series in a month!

unspoken Unspoken – Sarah Rees Brennan. 4/5 stars. Review coming. I really liked the humour in the main’s voice. The main character reminded me a little of Veronica Mars and I love that show.

hereafter Hereafter- Tara Hudson. 3/5 stars. It was good but I found it a little predictable.

conspiracy of us The Conspiracy of Us – Maggie Hall. 4/5 stars. Review. Reminded me of a YA Da Vinci’s Code. A lot of fun and I really liked that characters.

memory key The Memory Key – Liana Liu. 3/5 stars. Review coming. It liked the concept but it ended up falling a little flat.

linger big Linger – Maggie Stiefvater. 3/5 stars. I enjoyed the first book a little more but it’s still a good series

Alienated big Alienated – Melissa Landers. 3.5/5 stars. Review coming. It was lighter than I expected and a bit predictable but still enjoyable.

forever big Forever – Maggie Stiefvater. 3.5/5 stars. Out of the three original books, this one was my favourite.

never fade Never Fade – Alexandra Bracken. 4/5 stars. Lots of action, great characters, villains and untrustworthy characters that are fun to yell at. It’s cathartic.

sinner big Sinner – Maggie Stiefvater. 3.5/5 stars. Another series(and its spin-off) completed. This one ended up being my favourite of all of them. I just really like Cole.

awake at dawn Awake at Dawn – CC Hunter. 3.5/5 stars. I’m really enjoying this series so far. The friendships, so many supernatural creatures, the mystery, the action.

no parking No Parking at the End Times – Bryan Bliss. 3.5/5 stars. Review. A thought-provoking read that surprised me.

Atlantia Atlantia – Ally Condie. 3/5 stars. I didn’t like this one as much as her Matched series. It took longer to get into and I didn’t find the characters as engaging.

That was my January. So many books! Even though I plan on reading 28 for February, I’m only choosing a few definite reads for now. I have no idea what I’ll feel like reading so I’m keeping my options open.

February TBR:

silver shadows bigall fall downblue lilymeet you there i was here

5 Comments

Filed under books, reviews, TBR books, wrapup, ya books

5 responses to “January Wrap-up/February TBR

  1. otakutwins1

    WUT? CROWN OF MIDNIGHT AND THE RED QUEEN?!? AND ZODIAC? WOW 😀 I am jelly! Seriously, Crown of Midnight blew my mind, so excited to read Heir of Fire! *Goes to read Red Queen review….*

  2. Wow so many books read! That is amazing! I read I’ll Meet You There this month and it was so good, like really really good!

Leave a Reply

