Waiting on Wednesday

New WoW

This is a feature started on Breaking the Spine that puts the spotlight on upcoming books.

This week’s pick is:

when reason breaks

When Reason Breaks

Release date: February 10th 2015

Goodreads: 13 Reasons Why meets the poetry of Emily Dickinson in this gripping debut novel perfect for fans of Sara Zarr or Jennifer Brown.
A Goth girl with an attitude problem, Elizabeth Davis must learn to control her anger before it destroys her. Emily Delgado appears to be a smart, sweet girl, with a normal life, but as depression clutches at her, she struggles to feel normal. Both girls are in Ms. Diaz’s English class, where they connect to the words of Emily Dickinson. Both are hovering on the edge of an emotional precipice. One of them will attempt suicide. And with Dickinson’s poetry as their guide, both girls must conquer their personal demons to ever be happy.
In an emotionally taut novel with a richly diverse cast of characters, readers will relish in the poetry of Emily Dickinson and be completely swept up in the turmoil of two girls grappling with demons beyond their control.

Why I’m excited: This sounds like one of those books that’ll be so hard to read in the moment but by the end, you’re so glad you read it even with all the tears.

Advertisements

2 Comments

Filed under books, TBR books, waiting on wednesday, WoW, ya books

2 responses to “Waiting on Wednesday

  1. michelleandleslie

    sounds like an intense read. not usually my cup of tea but i’m intrigued nonetheless.

    hope you can stop by my WoW Post.

    -michelle @ Michelle & Leslie’s Book Picks

  2. Pingback: Comparing Before and After: When Reason Breaks by Cindy L Rodriguez | Overflowing Bookshelves

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s