Top Ten Tuesday

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday was started by The Broke and the Bookish. Every Tuesday there’s a different topic. This week is top ten books I read in 2014.

10. goodbye The Last Time We Say Goodbye – Cynthia Hand. This one doesn’t come out until February but, especially as someone with siblings, this hit me hard. I read with a constant pressure on my chest because the main character’s grief was so overpowering and something I could understand.

9. dream thieves The Dream Thieves – Maggie Stiefvater. This is one I kept putting off because of how much I loved the first one. How could it measure up? What if it ruined my feelings for the first? No worries, it was amazing. I love all the multiple POVs and how each character brings something to the story.

8. something real Something Real – Heather Demetrios. It feels like forever ago that I read this one but it stays with me. I loved the main character, her friends, her crush, her relationship with her brother, and it makes a reader stop to think about the consequences of children being exposed to reality show life.

7. love and other unknown variables Love and Other Unknown Variables – Shannon Lee Alexander. This had quirky characters, math, pranks, heartbreak, love, everything I needed at the time I was reading it.

6. isla Isla and the Happily Ever After – Stephanie Perkins. I knew I would love this one before I even started reading it. And it didn’t disappoint. It had more angst than the previous books but that just made me want them to succeed even more.

5. rites of passage Rites of Passage – Joy N Hensley. Definitely one of my favorite female characters ever. Sam was strong and determined and the bonds that developed within her core group was great to see.

4. sacrifice Sacrifice – Brigid Kemmerer. I was on the edge of my seat the whole book. I always have the ‘someone’s going to die’ feeling in the last book of the series even if no one does so every time it seemed like it could happen, I wasn’t ready.

3. thousand pieces of you A Thousand Pieces of You – Claudia Gray. Such a beautiful cover! The logistics of world-jumping after someone you think killed your father might be a little extreme but it was written in a way that I didn’t care. The relationships and the characters were complicated, the science was understandable, and it was a lot of fun to read.

2. snow like ashes Snow Like Ashes – Sara Raasch. The second I finished reading this, I added book two(still untitled*sad face*) to my TBR. It was complicated with great characters and I just wanted more. Now.

1. positive big Positive – Paige Rawl. I don’t know if at the beginning of the year that I would have predicted my best boo of 2014 to be a memoir, but here it is. I felt for her, her mom, I cried, I was mad, just so many emotions. She is definitely a strong woman and I’m glad I took the time to read her memoirs. They left an impression.

9 Comments

Filed under books, favorite book, top ten, ya books

9 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday

  1. I have a lot of love for Something Real. I’m really looking forward to The Last Time We Say Goodbye but it really does seem heartbreaking!

  2. 9 and 10 both look really interesting! The Cynthia Hand cover even looks like it’s going to be heartbreaking!

  3. I loved The Raven Boys and was so nervous about The Dream Thieves, but I just fell even more in love with the characters. Blue Lily, Lily Blue made my list, so if you haven’t picked it up, it is very good too.
    My TTT

  4. I’d suspend all of my belief of logistics if I could just frame the cover of A Thousand Pieces of You!

    Cheers,
    joey via. thoughts and afterthoughts

  5. SOMETHING REAL was really interesting, wasn’t it? I didn’t absolutely love it, but I liked getting a peek inside the lives of reality tv stars. RITES OF PASSAGE is on my list of books to read right away. It looks excellent.

    Happy TTT!

    Susan
    http://www.blogginboutbooks.com

Leave a Reply

