Top Ten Tuesday

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday was started by The Broke and the Bookish. Every Tuesday there’s a different topic. This week is top ten underrated authors or books in X genre. I’m sticking with the broad YA/New Adult category since there’s a few authors I want to highlight.

10. reboot big Amy Tintera – Reboot series. In this series it’s the boy who’s sweet and innocent and in need of saving, and the girl who’s a badass but secret softie. There’s tension through the whole series, so many twists, little moments to make the reader smile and, of course, break hearts.

9. isle of night big Veronica Wolff – The Watchers Series. A lesser known vampire series but one with great mythology, hot romance, and a world that’s terrifying. And the main character is sarcastic and pretty badass.

8. Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000038_00071] Nicole Williams – Crash series, Lost and Found series. She has other but these are the two series I’ve read by her. The books are hot, the characters flawed, and Jesse is a cowboy(yes I have an obsession).

7. glass houses big Rachel Caine – The Morganville Vampires series. Another vampire series. This one is more known than The Watchers but still not usually not a top suggestion when it comes to vampire books. The first books especially are easy to read in a day(I would know. I spent an afternoon, sick on the couch, and read through four) and there’s so much growth through the whole series.

6. storm Brigid Kemmerer – Elemental series. This series is one of my favourites. Very character driven, Brigid Kemmerer knows how to make you fall in love with her characters until you don’t know which character you like the most.

5. something real Heather Demetrios – Something Real, Exquisite Captive. I’ve only read Something Real so far but really want to start my ARC of Exquisite Captive this month. I love her writing. It’s very smart and her characters are so easy to love.

4. under the never sky big Veronica Rossi – Under the Never Sky series. Not usually one that comes up when thinking of Dystopian series but it’s one of my favourites. The world-building, the romance, the friendships, everything comes together so perfectly.

3. avalon big Mindee Arnett – Avalon series, Arkwell Academy series. She has two series that are completely different. One sci-fi that has a Firefly feel to it and one paranormal steeped in mythology. Both are ones I loved.

2. sweet evil Wendy Higgins – Sweet Trilogy. The mythology is interesting, the characters are great, there’s funny moments, heart-wrenching moments, such a roller-coaster ride.

1. swan The Silent Swan – Lex Keating. This book came out in April of 2013 and I’ve been waiting on news, any kind of news, on if the author has another book coming since. All the elements of the book worked so well together and it’s one of the most realistic teen boy voices I’ve read.

11 Comments

Filed under books, must read, top ten, ya books

11 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday

  1. These books sound great, especially the Elemental series! I am very much a character-centered reader. Now I have a whole bunch more books on my TBR!

  2. Great list; thank you for sharing some good ideas!

  3. I loved Something Real and The Reboot series. Zombie stories are a favorite of mine–unusual zombies are even better.

  4. I just bought Reboot myself, glad to hear you liked it. I’m really looking forward to it!

Leave a Reply

